Programs & Courses


Comparative Literature, Cinema & Media is about exploring connections — connections among various literary, visual, and cultural traditions in a global world; connections between past and present; and connections across different academic disciplines and modes of intellectual inquiry. Our department offers the following Graduate and Undergraduate Degrees/Certificates:

Comparative Literature trains students in the critical analysis of texts, seeking to understand how the rhetorical and aesthetic features of those texts—whether literary, visual, or theoretical—negotiate and shape social values, attitudes, and beliefs. International in scope and interdisciplinary in orientation, our field emphasizes intellectual breadth and fosters intellectual initiative by maximizing students’ opportunities to design their own courses of study.

You can also explore our Course Offerings.

Program Contacts

Graduate Studies

Yomi Braester, Director of Graduate Studies  yomi@uw.edu
Yuko Mera, Graduate Program Advisor (GPA)
ymera@uw.edu
Cinema and Media Studies Certificate Program
Jennifer Bean, Director
jmbean@uw.edu 
Theory and Criticism Program   
Doug Collins, Director
dcollins@uw.edu
Textual Studies Program
Raimonda Modiano, Director
modiano@uw.edu

Undergraduate Studies

Eric Ames, Director of Undergraduate Studies eames@uw.edu
English/C LIT Undergraduate Advising, A-2-B Padelford cflmadv@uw.edu
Cinema Studies Program
Jennifer Bean, Director
jmbean@uw.edu