People - Faculty

Professor and Department Chair
eames@uw.edu / (206) 543-7542 / B537 PDL
Office Hours: By appointment
Associate Professor, Adjunct Associate Professor of the Department of Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
jmbean@uw.edu / (206) 543-7542 / C522 PDL
Office Hours: AUT 2016 T 1:00-2:00 & by appointment
Professor of Comparative Literature and French
mbj@uw.edu / (206) 543-9399 / B524 PDL
Office Hours: WQ '16: Th 2:00-3:20
Professor, Byron W. and Alice L. Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
yomi@uw.edu / (206) 221-6639 / C504 PDL
 
Professor of Slavic Languages and Literature and Comparative Literature
crnkovic@uw.edu / (206) 543-7641 / A212 Padelford
Office Hours: TTH 11:00-11:50
Professor of Spanish and Comparative Literature
tgeist@uw.edu / (206) 543-2022 / B232 PDL
 
Assistant Professor
groening@uw.edu / B515 PDL
Office Hours: Spring Q '16: Mondays 12-1, and by appointment
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
handwerk@uw.edu / PDL A402
Office Hours: AUT 2016: Thurs.2:00-3:30 and by appt.
Pic
Associate Professor of Film Studies
sudhirm@uw.edu / (206) 616-6773 / C506 PDL
Office Hours: SQ: TTH 2-4 and by appointment
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
modiano@uw.edu / (206) 543-2503 / B419 PDL
 
Professor and Chair of Department of English, Professor of Comparative Literature
bmreed@u.washington.edu / (206) 543-2690 / Padelford A-101
Office Hours: By appointment with Karla Tofte (ktofte@uw.edu).
Associate Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature
sbragia@uw.edu / (206) 543-6241 / C262 PDL
Office Hours: T 1:10-2:10 / Th 4:30-5:30
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
lsearle@uw.edu / (206) 543-6358 / B426 PDL
Office Hours: AUT 2016 T Th 1:30-2:30 HUB Mezzanine
Sokoloff photo
Professor of Hebrew and Comparative Literature
naosok@uw.edu / (206) 543-7145 / Condon 612
Office Hours: Spring Q '16: Wednesday 1:30-3:00
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
jtweedie@uw.edu / (206) 543-5603 / B519 PDL
Office Hours: AUT 2016 Th 10:00-11:50
Professor of English and Comparative Literature
homebase@uw.edu / PDL B423
 

Emeriti Faculty

Name Title Email Office
Ammerlahn, Hellmut Professor Emeritus of Germanics and Comparative Literature ammerlan@uw.edu
Behler, Diana Professor Emerita of Germanics and Comparative Literature behlerdi@uw.edu
Brown, Jane Professor Emerita of Germanics and Comparative Literature jkbrown@uw.edu
(206) 543-8097
334 DEN
Brown, Marshall Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
(206) 543-1488
B405 PDL
Collins, Douglas Associate Professor Emeritus of French and Comparative Literature dcollins@uw.edu
(206) 543-4545
C257 PDL
Mclean, Sammy Professor Emeritus, Germanics and Comparative Literature smclean@uw.edu
Vaughan, Míċeál Professor of Comparative Literature and English miceal@uw.edu
(206) 543-2285
A309 PDL
Wang, Ching Hsien Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email Office
Alaniz, José Associate Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures jos23@uw.edu
(206) 543-7580
M256 SMI
Alavi, Samad Assistant Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization salavi@uw.edu
(206) 616-2390
Denny 233
Benitez, Francisco Affiliate Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
Chrisman, Laura Adjunct Professor of Comparative Literature, Nancy K. Ketcham Endowed Chair in English lhc3@uw.edu
(206) 543-6045
B401 PDL
Clauss, James Director of the University Honors Program, Professor of Classics, Adjunct Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Literature jjc@uw.edu
(206) 543-2278
228C DEN
DeYoung, Terri Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilization tdeyoung@uw.edu
(206) 685-7936
M-29C DEN
Gilbert-Santamaria, Donald Associate Professor of Spanish donalgs@uw.edu
(206) 616-6329
B231 PDL
Hamm, Christopher Associate Professor of Asian Languages and Literature jcsong@uw.edu
(206) 543-4974
M235 GWN
Jesty, Justin Assistant Professor of Asian Languages and Literature jestyj@uw.edu
(206) 221-9184
SMI 018
Kaup, Monika Professor of English mkaup@uw.edu
(206) 221-6509
B430 PDL
Kuru, Selim Associate Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilization selims@uw.edu
(206) 543-0697
M-25 Denny
Mack, Edward Associate Professor of Asian Languages and Literature tmack@uw.edu
(206) 543-4356
248 GWN
Mercer, Leigh Associate Professor of Spanish lmercer@uw.edu
(206) 543-2059
B-219 PDL
Nestingen, Andrew Professor of Scandinavian Studies akn@uw.edu
(206) 543-0643
Noegel, Scott Professor of Biblical and Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Chair, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilization snoegel@uw.edu
(206) 543-3606
229B DEN
Staten, Henry Byron W. and Alice L. Lockwood Professor in the Humanities, English hstaten@uw.edu
(206) 685-4965
B409 PDL
Turnovsky, Geoffrey Associate Professor of French gt2@uw.edu
(206) 685-1618
C255 PDL